2016 Yosemite Film Festival Award Winners

The Yosemite International Film Festival is proud to announce the Winners of 2016 film and screenplay competitions.

Grand Jury Award

More Than Just Parks | Redwood directed by Jim Pattiz & Will Pattiz

Special Jury Prize

Return of the Free China Junk directed by Robin Greenberg

Best Environmental Film

GreenGiants directed by Alexis Posternak

Best Narrative Feature

By Any Name directed by Euros Jones-Evans

Best Documentary Feature

Sonic Sea directed by Michelle Dougherty, Daniel Hinerfeld

Best Narrative Short

Twinsburg directed by Joe Garrity

Best Documentary Short

The Path of Grey Owl directed by Goh Iromoto

Best Foreign Feature

Grado Mission written by Carlo Christian Spano

Best Foreign Short

Don't mess with the Sharkies directed by Richard Rabelbauer

Best California Short

COMPANION directed by Andrew Crabtree

Best California Feature

Abundance on a Dry Land directed by Jocelyn Demers

Best Experimental Film

Sunrise on the Total Chaos written by Craig Norris

Best Music Video

Julia Holter - Sea Calls Me Home directed by Claire Marie Vogel

Best Student Short

Fish directed by Andrew Ruiz

Best Student Feature

At Dusk directed by Vinny Viti IV

Best Animated Film

Pirate Parts directed by Shabnam Shams, Megan Robinson, Sara Chantland

Best Screenplay

DisAssociationVille directed by James Christopher

Best Director

Yours Accidentally directed by Steven Forrester

Best TV Pilot

The Parallel Project directed by Barrett Gregory

Best Actor

Jack Myatt in Yours Accidentally directed by Steven Forrester

Best Actress

Lois Steward in Catfish Blues directed by Junior Bonner


Official Finalists

The Eve directed by Luca Machnich

Better Tomorrows directed by Breana C Mallamaci

Kokota: The Islet of Hope directed by Craig Norris

Isolated - Busanfornia Calling directed by Seoho Lee

What No One's Ever Seen Before directed by Sandya Viswanathan

Freesia directed by Conor Ibrahiem

E.Z.P.Z. directed by Jason Bryan

Thanatophobia directed by Peter Dimako

Kiss of Death directed by Timothy Collins, Jillian Kibler

Fragments directed by Ljiljana Novakovic


Honorable Mentions

Do Right directed by Patrick Blake

Through The Thick directed by Nino Leitner

The Caravan Film directed by Margot McMaster

Forget Shorter Showers directed by Jordan Brown

Maskoun directed by Krystle Houiess, Sharif Abdunnur

Oracle directed by Christopher Lange

Foreign Sounds directed by Eric Shahinian

River directed by Stephanie Maxwell

What's The Frack? directed by Davison Mudzingwa

American Inspiration: Wilderness directed by Paul Edwards


2016 Screenplay Competition Winners

Feature Script Competition

Grand Prize Winner: Resurrection Time Conspiracy written by James Carroll

1st Place: Attic Ashes written by Lorraine Portman

2nd Place: EArTH Day written by Ian Hughes

3rd Place:  20/20: Search for Independence written by Harold L. Brown


Short Script Contest

1st Place: Chalk written by Eric Whitten

2nd Place: Chapin written by Florencia Davidzon

3rd Place: Twirling at Ole Miss written by John Matthew Tyson


Television Writing Contest

1st Place: Evening Sun Dying written by Jake Smith

2nd Place: Strike Out written by Edward Feeley

3rd Place: Distance written by Danny Cohen


Official Finalists

Come Back for Me written by Kevin Sliva

The Case of the Tattooed Redhead written by Jim Norman

Red Ivory written by Larry Thomas

Seriah's Legacy written by Julie M Kaufmann

Valley of Spirits written by Warren R Hull

Clear Blue Sky written by Michael S Brazda

The Dam written by Daveion Lashley

Shattered Time written by Gorman Woodfin

Molly Would written by Tony Magee, Tim Breaux

The Heretics written by Neil L. Looker